Jacey Gonzalez, Jeanne White-Ginder and NHF CEO Val D. Bias

Rendir homenaje a las estrellas de la comunidad de trastornos hemorrágicos

Los premios de la NHF celebran el poderoso impacto de las personas y organizaciones que fortalecen a la comunidad

Every year, the National Hemophilia Foundation (NHF) honors some of the brightest stars in the bleeding disorders community. From providers to volunteers to chapters, the NHF Bleeding Disorders Conference and Awards Ceremony highlights some of the exceptional individuals and organizations that work every day to improve the lives of people with bleeding disorders.

NHF’s Awards of Excellence are given to individuals whose work on behalf of the community is exceptional. Physician, Nurse, Social Worker, Physical Therapist and Genetic Counselor of the Year are chosen by a committee of their peers, who evaluate the impact awardees have had on their professions.

Caregiving Professionals

Physician of the Year, named in honor of Kenneth Brinkhous, was awarded to Michael Guerrera, MD, of the Children’s National Health System, Washington, DC. Guerrera demonstrated his leadership through his role as outpatient medical unit director and as a member of the Mid-Atlantic Region III Executive Committee, where he developed a program to encourage medical residents and fellows to participate in the NHF conference. In addition, he developed a review process for hemophilia treatment centers (HTCs) that applied to use 340B funding for bleeding disorders research in their regions.

Glen Roy, RN-BC, BSN, was honored as Nurse of the Year. For the past 26 years, Roy has volunteered as the medical director at the New England Hemophilia Association Family Camp, where he oversees care and treatment, guides camp programs and teaches campers self-infusion skills. In addition, he demonstrates compassion for his patients, families and colleagues at the Maine Medical Center in Portland, Maine.

Social Worker of the Year, named in honor of Jill Solomon, was awarded to Eric Iglewski, LMSW, of the Mary M. Gooley Hemophilia Center in Rochester, New York. Iglewski is recognized for his dedication to his patients and their families and for his generosity in sharing his knowledge and expertise with his colleagues.

Nancy Durben, PT, MSPT, PCS, of The Hemophilia Center at OHSU in Portland, Oregon, was honored as Physical Therapist of the Year, named in honor of Donna Boone. For the past 13 years, Durben has been a valuable part of the clinical care team at OHSU and serves as a mentor for new physical therapists in the community.

Genetic Counselor of the Year honors a person who has taken a leading role in assisting and educating families and individuals on the genetic inheritance of bleeding disorders. Sarah Ryan, MS, CGC, of Bloodworks Northwest in Seattle, has made significant contributions to her field through My Life, Our Future and through her service to Bloodworks Northwest and other HTCs throughout the country.

Volunteer champions

NHF was also proud to recognize extraordinary volunteers in the bleeding disorders community.

The Ryan White Youth Award is given to a young person who helps increase awareness and understanding of bleeding disorders. Jacey Gonzalez, of Las Vegas, has been volunteering for the bleeding disorders community since childhood. She serves on the board of the Nevada Chapter of NHF, volunteers at the chapter’s camp and sits on the HTC Patient Advisory Board. She volunteers with NHF as a member of the women with bleeding disorders working group. Jeanne White-Ginder, mother of Ryan White, presented Gonzalez with her award.

Advocate of the Year recognizes outstanding work advocating for the bleeding disorders community. Kelly Gonzalez, MBA, MEd, of Las Vegas, chairs the advocacy team for the Nevada Chapter of NHF, provides leadership during state and federal advocacy days and is a tireless champion of access to care for people in her community.

Husband and wife Tim and Kathy Statton were recognized as Philanthropists of the Year. The Stattons began their involvement in the community in 1977, when their son Chris was born. They established the Statton Family Scholarship at Juniata College, which covers 100% of the cost for a deserving student from the bleeding disorders community.

Humanitarian of the Year, named for Mary M. Gooley, honors a person who has made outstanding contributions in multiple areas on behalf of people with bleeding disorders. Amber Federizo, APRN, FNP-BC, co-medical director of the Hemostasis and Thrombosis Center of Nevada, was recognized for her care and perseverance on behalf of her patients.

The Lifetime Achievement Award, named in honor of Dick James, recognizes a person who has dedicated his life to the bleeding disorders community. Michael Soucie, PhD, worked in the Blood Disorders Division of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). He served as NHF’s contact on blood safety issues, represented the CDC at NHF’s Medical and Scientific Advisory Council and is an esteemed epidemiologist, assisting patients with the complications of bleeding disorders through CDC research.